European Journalism Observatory

The European Journalism Observatory (EJO) is a network of 13 non-profit media research institutes in 11 countries. The network aims to disseminate research on journalism and global media issues, and to foster professionalism and press freedom.

The EJO promotes dialogue between media researchers and practitioners. It brings the results of media research to the people who deal with and work in the media. It aims to improve the quality of journalism, contribute to a richer understanding of media, and to foster press freedom and media accountability.

EJO is a developing network of collaborating research institutes based in Albania, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.  The German website is located at the Erich Brost Institute for international journalism at TU Dortmund University. The English website of the EJO is located at City, University of London.

All EJO partners operate independently in their language area. Each partner decides what information is relevant for their audiences, which stories should be made available and translated for the English EJO platform, and which articles should be picked up from the English platform and translated for local audience.

In 2019, the European Journalism Observatory received the Günter Wallraff Prize for the critical examination of journalism. The prize was awarded by the German media watchdog Initiative Nachrichtenaufklärung (INA).